No Left Turn at Albuquerque

In fact, I moved to Albuquerque.

I know that it’s been over a year since I’ve written anything here.  Let’s just say that my life was getting more stressful at the same time that it got more boring.  I don’t know if that makes any sense.  Basically, I was in a job that was stressful and going nowhere.  I was in full hermit mode in my personal life.  I didn’t want to go out and socialize, or do anything really.  I just stayed home every night, getting caught up on books, TV shows from Netflix such as Top Gear and Doctor Who, and basically accomplishing fuck all.  To put it simply, I realized my life was at a standstill, and to make it worse, I didn’t know where I wanted it to go.

So, April and I made the ludicrous decision to move to Albuquerque.  Why?  Because of the University of New Mexico.  And to make a life change.  And because California is in so much debt, that their publicly funded university system (CSU colleges) announced that due to budget constraints they would not be accepting any new students for 2013.  It makes you wonder if all that tax money from gasoline and other stupid fees is just wasted on bloated bureaucrat salaries, or spent on “oral exams” by drugged-up hookers for said bureaucrats.  Probably both.

I’m sure this could be a new tongue twister.  Bloated Bureaucrats Bereft of Barbiturate Blowjobs.

We had searched the other school websites around the country to find a place that had both of the programs we wanted.  We narrowed it down to UNM and the University of Colorado at Boulder.  The simple answer for our decision was cost of living.  Albuquerque is much cheaper to live in than Boulder.  And our income isn’t that much.  Anyway, school begins in January and I am double majoring in History and International Studies.  I originally picked just history, but since I have all these Arabic credits from the Defense Language Institute, my academic advisor suggested the double major.  So I agreed.

The drive here was rather uneventful.  We rented a Penske moving truck for all of our stuff.  The only problem occurred the day after we arrived.  We checked into a Motel 6 on the north end of the city.  Mind you, there was a padlock on the back, locking the truck’s gate/door/thing.  Sometime between 11:00am and 12:30pm, in broad daylight in the Motel 6 parking lot, some local assholes cut the lock and broke in.  They stole April’s jewelry box, my guitar, my mandolin, and my violin.  They didn’t get the computers or the TV, which were covered.  So they only grabbed the things in the back they thought were of value.  The most valuable was that guitar.  It was a Takamine acoustic-electric.  It cost me $1,000 when I bought it in Atlanta.

So if those fuckwad thieves happen to someday read this, yes I did report the theft immediately to police with accurate descriptions of what was taken.  Pawn shops are checked.  If that guitar or anything else turns up, the police will be notified.  Also, one more thing.  There is a special place in hell reserved for you where tapeworms infest your genitals and you’re forced to perpetually listen to Justin Bieber.

Leave a Reply

