Life and Weight Update

I know I haven’t posted anything new here in about three weeks.  I don’t really have any classic excuses for it, such as “aliens anal-probed my cat” or “my paper mache Starship Enterprise caught fire”.  Can we just chalk it all up to laziness and procrastination?  Oh, and I’ve been playing Assassin’s Creed III.  I need to step it up in that game so I can finish it before my brother does.  He plays video games all the time.  His Xbox achievement score thingy is around 18,000.  Mine is a mere 1504.  As you can see, I’m more of a casual gamer.  I don’t play all the time, but I still enjoy them.  If I can finish AC III before him, it will be something of a personal achievement in and of itself.  Akin to shaving your balls without cutting yourself.

What else have I been up to?  I am a new student at the University of New Mexico in Albuquerque. I recently got registered for sixteen semester hours beginning in January.  I’m glad I have the GI Bill.  I served eight years active duty in the US Navy from 1999 to 2007, so this qualifies me for what’s known as the Post 9/11 GI Bill.  Basically, I have college covered.  I was originally planing to just major in history, but my academic advisor advised I take on a double major because of all of my language and culture credits.  While in the Navy, I got the opportunity to attend the Defense Language Institute, which I graduated on the honor roll in the Arabic program.  Because of all of those classes, my advisor said I should also take on languages or International Studies.

I chose my second major to be International Studies with a focus on the Middle East.  Now I’m just waiting for classes to start.

On the health and weight loss front.  I’ve been doing better than I have in a long time.  When we moved to Albuquerque three months ago, I weighed 245 pounds.  I am now at 230 and still falling.  I know I can do more to lose weight faster, but at least I am losing weight.  I can now walk by junk food and sweets at the grocery store…and just walk on by.  It’s a good feeling.

One thing that is helping me along is the Nike Plus running App I got for my iPhone.  No, this is not a product endorsement or anything.  A co-worker at my last job was having great success with it, so I tried it out.  It’s a great little tool that monitors your running via the phone’s GPS.  It measures how far you’ve run and times you.  You also enter your height and weight and the App tells you how many calories you’ve burned.  The App can also access your iTunes on the phone for music while you run.  It turns your running workouts into a game almost.

I just checked the App, and since I got it in April 2012, I’ve run 163.3 miles in 64 runs, and burned 27,890 calories.  Neat, huh?

Well, that’s all for now.  I have more stories to tell, particularly about Navy bootcamp and more travel stories about Paris, Belize, Ireland, and driving cross-country in the States.  I promise to get writing and get them up here soon.

Don’t you think “Anal Probing Aliens” would make a great name for a punk band?

Leave a Reply

