I’m Writing A Book!

Holy updates, Batman!  I figured I’d quickly recount the changes in my life before telling all about my writing endeavors.  I finished school at the University of New Mexico.  I took my final two classes over the summer semester and finished in mid July.  I had to take a math class, and finished up with History of the Vietnam War.  For me it was easy peasy.  My overall GPA at UNM was 3.85.  **brain flex**  After finishing school, I moved back to Sacramento.  My brother offered me a place to stay in his spare bedroom until I could get a job and get my life moving again.

Finishing university and moving back to Sacramento isn’t the only major change in my life.  April and I have split up.  It was an friendly split, though.  So there’s that.  We had been drifting apart for years, and it got to the point that we realized we were heading in different directions.  She wanted to stay in Albuquerque, and focus on her career with Petco.  I look at it as an opportunity to forge a new life for myself, wherever that leads me.  It’s new, refreshing, and a little scary.  I’m single again for the first time in eleven years.  We’ll just have to see what happens.

To get my life rolling in the direction I would like, I’ve been sending out many applications.  The state of California is hiring like crazy, so I might as well take advantage of all the positions.  The only problem is that there are thousands of people applying for the hundreds of positions.  Even though there are many job openings, competition is still tight.  While I’m sending out applications, I’m taking the time to write a book.

I’ve always had all kinds of stories in my head, and I’ve written many of them down.  They’ve all been short stories for the most part.  I will be putting them all together in a short story collection sometime in the near future. But the book I’m working on right now is called The Cloud People.  It is a young adult, sci-fi adventure.  I got the idea for the entire story while watching The Walking Dead.  And no, it has nothing to do with zombies.  It’s just the way my brain works sometimes.  Why young adult you say?  After I wrote my outline and I sat down to start writing it, I realized that I wanted this adventure story to be enjoyed by everyone.  That means all age groups.  Many young adult novels are enjoyed by everyone, including adults.  Just think of the excellent Harry Potter series or The Hunger Games.  So that’s what I’m going for in The Cloud People.  Everyone can enjoy it.  And there’s a wizard, of sorts, in the story.

As of the writing of this blog, I’ve completed 25,000 words, or 11 chapters.  I’m anticipating that the finished first draft will be around 75,000 words because I’m about one third of the way into my outline.  However, it could be longer.  I’ve already thought of and added a couple of scenes that I didn’t originally outline for.  As I was writing I realized I needed an action packed, special effects scene here, or just had a really cool idea there.  I’m still shooting for 75k words though.  We’ll see.  As I get further into it, I’ll post an excerpt of the book here, or maybe even the first chapter.

2 thoughts on “I’m Writing A Book!

    1. I’m sure I’ll post something someday. I’ve written 37k words so far, about half way done. Things are definitely looking up here in Sactown. I hope everything is going well with you.

Leave a Reply

